Can’t Not Do It


“…books aren’t written on whim or promises.  Books are written on years turned inside out by ideas that never let go until you get them in print, and even then writing’s a last resort, a desperate ransom you pay to get your life back.” — Richard Bach

Well…yeah…except (speaking only for myself here), it’s not a question of “getting my life back.”  My life IS the writing.  Sure, I have hearth and home and family and pets and outside obligations but, in a way, THOSE things are the ones from which I have to ransom back my life.  Those are the responsibilities I have to fulfill/beat back/ignore in order to grasp my “real” life,which is words, always words.  The craft comes first, and not just the sheer joy of being able to do this work, but the WORK of this work — the frustrations and tears and WANTING TO GET IT RIGHT that keeps me writing and learning and reading and learning.  I’ve learned which authors I can do back to time and again to get a jolt in the arm, to recharge my batteries, to remind me of the joy inherent in this work even if no one ever buys it.  (Obviously I hope someone will, but it’s not like I’d stop writing if they don’t.  Won’t stop.  CAN’T stop.  Writing is who I am.  To deny that…well, that’s to deny everything.  And to heck with that!)

About Melissa Crandall

A million years ago--round-about the first Ice Age--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and science fiction media tie-in novels. I'm happy to say that I've since branched out to include fantasy, horror, essays, and narrative nonfiction. This site will keep you up-to-date on my adventures in writing. I live in Connecticut with my husband--who frequently wonders what he got himself into by marrying a writer--two cats named Tuna and Gypsy, and a semi-neurotic Australian shepherd named Holly.
This entry was posted in Connecticut, Darling Wendy, fantasy, Fiction, Literary Fiction, Mainstream Fiction, Melissa Crandall, Science fiction, Speculative Fiction, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

