It’s A Book!


As I write this, WEATHERCOCK is going to print.  In a few short weeks, a large truck will pull up with boxes of my latest book.  Ladies and Gentlemen, I am damned excited!

WEATHERCOCK is a fantasy, appropriate for ages 15 and up, and recounts the journey of discovery a young man makes when he opts to fight the role society has laid out for him rather than cave in to pressure.

The back cover reads:

Keeping a man after he’s gone blank is like feeding a dry cow just because you like its eyes,” Auntie Cully declared one night when the topic came up at dinner.  “If a man can’t breed, what good is he?  Better to put him out of his misery as soon as possible.”

Condemned to death, Kinner is whisked away by his ailing mother on the eve of execution.  Traveling overland, hiding from pursuit, he soon realizes that her plans for him aren’t what they appear to be. Has his own mother turned traitor?

What of Rai and Banya, the mercenary soldiers in whose company they travel?  On the run from their own commander, can they truly be trusted?

And what of the Weathercock, the hero legend says will one day set men free from the tyranny of women?  Can he be counted on to appear when Kinner needs him most?

For the time being, WEATHERCOCK will be available directly from me only.  (Amazon takes a big chunk of change to market books, and chain bookstores generally don’t look at self-published books.)  HOWEVER — I hope to have several copies available at the Written Words Bookstore in Shelton, CT very soon.

Cover price is $16.99.  This includes shipping and handling.  Those who pre-order the book BEFORE FEBRUARY 1, 2011 may purchase it for $10.  Send a check or money order payable to “Melissa Crandall” at P.O. Box 275, Quaker Hill, CT 06375.

Remember, the cut-off date is February 1, 2011 to get your hot-off-the-press copy of WEATHERCOCK at a discount!

Thank you!!

About Melissa Crandall

Longer ago than I care to admit--although I will--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and media tie-in novels. Since then, I've moved on to narrative nonfiction, speculative fiction, and essays. I write to explore and understand the world around me, the things I see and experience nearby or from a distance. If I shake myself up, cool. If I shake you up, even better. Not gratuitously--what's the point in that?--but to set what I know, or think I know, on end and realize, "Well, doesn't it look different from this side!" My work is neither sexually explicit nor graphically violent. Let's face it - your imaginations will come up with things far worse than anything I could write, no matter how descriptive. Besides, it's just not my thing. I live in Connecticut with my supportive husband Ed, a cat named Ruby who might just think she's a dog, and an epileptic Australian shepherd named Holly who isn't quite certain anymore who she is, except she knows she loves her mommy.
This entry was posted in Connecticut, CT, fantasy, Fiction, Melissa Crandall, New Book, self-publishing, Weathercock, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s A Book!

  1. John says:

    Sounds great, Melissa–I can’t wait to read it! My check will be in the mail soon…

    John

  2. All the best of luck with your new book, Melissa.

  3. This seems like an interesting premise… will i get a recipet if I preorder? And the cut off date is February 1st… is that postmarked or you have to have the check or money order by then?

    • Welcome! As for the premise, well, it’s a way to generate early sales (always a good thing). I can certainly send you a receipt if you like, no problem there. If an order is postmarked February 1st, that works for me. The point is to get books out there, get people reading and (I hope ) excited about the story so they’ll encourage their fellow readers to buy a copy. Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

