The Sanctity of Water


Blogfriend 47whitebuffalo (aka Eva) writes today about water and the ways in which we take it for granted.  Inspired by her, I thought I’d do the same.

We’re lucky in this country.  Most of us have clean running water at the turn of a tap.  Our showers and tubs pour forth hot water, our toilets blithely take away our sewage.  And we all take it for granted.

Close your eyes.  Imagine life with no running water or indoor toilets.  Imagine having to share a communal well that has been corrupted by fecal matter.  Imagine having to walk miles to get fresh water every day, carrying it on your back.  Imagine rivers of sewage with no way to drain it off.  Imagine standing on the muddy banks of a stream that once ran clear and abundantly, looking at a trickle and wondering if it would ever return to its former glory.

It’s snowy here in the Northeast and I hear so much complaining about it.  Don’t they realize that this is how our wells and reservoirs are replenished?  Don’t they realize that our drinking water comes from the sky as well as the earth?

I don’t think so.

We’re so spoiled.  We take long showers, wash three items in a washer full of water, leave the water running as we brush our teeth or rinse our dishes and we never once think about waste.  Time was when dishes were washed in a dish pan and the grey water dumped on the garden.  How often do you see that happening anymore?

I encourage everyone to pause and think as you use the water given to us.  Use less where you can.  Stretch the use if you’re able.  And be grateful; oh, so grateful.

With little effort, it could be oh so different.

About Melissa Crandall

Longer ago than I care to admit--although I will--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and media tie-in novels. Since then, I've moved on to narrative nonfiction, speculative fiction, and essays. I write to explore and understand the world around me, the things I see and experience nearby or from a distance. If I shake myself up, cool. If I shake you up, even better. Not gratuitously--what's the point in that?--but to set what I know, or think I know, on end and realize, "Well, doesn't it look different from this side!" My work is neither sexually explicit nor graphically violent. Let's face it - your imaginations will come up with things far worse than anything I could write, no matter how descriptive. Besides, it's just not my thing. I live in Connecticut with my supportive husband Ed, a cat named Ruby who might just think she's a dog, and an epileptic Australian shepherd named Holly who isn't quite certain anymore who she is, except she knows she loves her mommy.
This entry was posted in Connecticut, Environment, Essays, Melissa Crandall, Water, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sanctity of Water

  1. Hello Melissa, reading this is like reading a continuation of my own thoughts and images as I wrote my post about water. You added all the details right down to fecal contaminated water. Thanks for helping to spread some awareness–we hope!!!

  2. I once took water for granted. No more. Where I live in the U.S. our water is non-potable due to over use of nitrates by the agriculture industry. All the water my family uses for drinking and cooking has to be hauled in by me from fifteen miles away. And I am grateful for it.

    • Thank you for sharing this, Simone. People need to realize that folks who have to work for their water don’t live only in far-away countries, but right here. Kudos to you for learning gratitude for what you have. I’m sure that you are instilling it in your family and friends and they will be the richer for it.

Leave a Reply

