I’ve Earned These Wrinkles, Dammit!


A random headline on Yahoo!news the other day read something like this:  “How to look like a Sports Illustrated model.”

Who wants to?

I mean, yeah, sure.  You look at these women with their so-called perfect curves, swelling bosoms, tight buns, flawless skin, perfect makeup (who the F*** wears makeup at the beach?!) and you might think:  *Sigh*  Why can’t that be me?

Know what?  It’s not them, either.

Any one of us — ANYONE — could look that good if we had personal hairdressers and makeup artists and (of vital importance) a photographer who knows the value of lighting, draped clothing (or not), and airbrushing.

But the world moves on convinced in its heart that these women are the ideal.  Would they feel that way knowing that Miz X woke up that morning bloated as an inner tube and cranky as hell?  Would they accept Miz Y with an inflamed pimple the size of a third world country on the end of her nose?  Would they delight in Miz Z’s cellulite-riddle thighs?

Meanwhile, regular everyday women are made to feel less than worthy.  Worse, they EMBRACE that they are made to feel this way.

Throw it off, ladies, I implore you.

Hear me and take heart — you are PERFECT just the way you are.  Oh, heck yes, there’s always room for improvement.  Obviously, you should eat healthy and exercise, but that’s for YOU, not for the media or the rest of the world.  But the inner landscape is worth more than all the sleek and perfect thighs in the world.

You work hard (I know you do).  Give yourself a break from time to time.  Indulge in those things you love.  Learn something new that you’ve always wanted to know.  Put yourself first for a change instead of last (or, too often, not at all).

You’re worth it.

About Melissa Crandall

A million years ago--round-about the first Ice Age--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and science fiction media tie-in novels. I'm happy to say that I've since branched out to include fantasy, horror, essays, and narrative nonfiction. This site will keep you up-to-date on my adventures in writing. I live in Connecticut with my husband--who frequently wonders what he got himself into by marrying a writer--two cats named Tuna and Gypsy, and a semi-neurotic Australian shepherd named Holly.
This entry was posted in Appearances, Connecticut, Honesty, Independent Writers, Melissa Crandall, personal growth, Truth, Women, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve Earned These Wrinkles, Dammit!

  1. Becky says:

    Good one Melissa. Those “swelling bosoms” you mentioned are not all they are cracked up to be, take it from someone that knows. I used to fret over my wrinkles, but you know once I lost my beautiful mom I realized they aren’t so bad after all.

  2. A.M. Kuska says:

    I’d love to look like one of those models. They can do that in photoshop, right? ^^ I’ll send in a pic for ‘them’ to work on one of these days.

Leave a Reply

