All About Perspective


perspective
perspective (Photo credit: huntz)

Humans are self-centered creatures.  Even the most self-sacrificing among us have our moments of total narcisism, those instances when we’re so focused on our own lives that everything else disappears.

And being human, we have a tendency to focus on the bad rather than the good.  Oh, we’ll celebrate our golden moments, sure we will, but we also love to expound on the darkness with which we deal.  The spectrum is broad — elderly parents, sick animals, children of every stripe, divorce, acne, disease, speeding tickets, allergies — and it’s not unusual, from time to time, to think our burdens are the worst.

I’m no different.  I get overwhelmed by the stuff that comes down the pike and feel petulant and whiny.  But not today.  A couple bits of news came my way and you know something?  I have nothing to complain about.

A woman I know, a lovely woman who for some reason attracts hideous situations like honey draws wasps, just found out that her troubled young daughter was slipped a date-rape drug and sexually assaulted multiple times.  And one of my cousins, as nice a woman as you could ever hope to meet, has just been diagnosed with breast cancer.

Do you see what I mean?  Compared to those things, my issues fade to nothing.

Tonight, as you’re drifting off to sleep, rather than sigh and focus on all the things wrong in your life, take a moment to seek out the blessings that you might not have acknowledged in some time.  And while you’re at it, say a prayer for the two women I mention above, okay?  They could really use it.

 

About Melissa Crandall

A million years ago--round-about the first Ice Age--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and science fiction media tie-in novels. I'm happy to say that I've since branched out to include fantasy, horror, essays, and narrative nonfiction. This site will keep you up-to-date on my adventures in writing. I live in Connecticut with my husband--who frequently wonders what he got himself into by marrying a writer--two cats named Tuna and Gypsy, and a semi-neurotic Australian shepherd named Holly.
This entry was posted in Courage, Melissa Crandall and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All About Perspective

  1. eileeneldred says:

    A timely reminder, thank you! Sending prayers and strength to your ladies, keeping them in my thoughts to keep me on track with what’s important.

  2. John says:

    My thughts go out to your friend, her daughter and your cousin. and you’re dead-on. It’s all about perspective. 🙂

Leave a Reply

