Treading Water


English: Students of the Marine Combat Instruc...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am writing this in the dark, hiding in the guest room of my mother’s house, pretending to be asleep because if I have to answer one more question (that I’ve already answered a dozen times) or field one more wild goose chase (at 9:30 pm, she’s on the hunt for her black pocketbook…which I’m not even sure she owns anymore) I’ll either go mad or sit down and cry.

Caretaking is not for sissies.

There’s been a marked change in Mom since my father’s death two months ago.  I don’t know if it’s grief or depression or sadness or another UTI (‘urinary tract infection’ for the blessedly uninitiated) or the natural progression of her illness or a combination of all these or what, but we are (as I think Harlan Ellison once put it) truly in cloud cuckoo land.

She knows me…and then she doesn’t.  I am me…but then I am my sister or her sister or my niece.  Once I was even the nice nurse who takes care of her.  That was momentarily rough to swallow.  She spent today “looking for Melissa,” but the Melissa (me) she’s looking for is the eight year old version.  She turned to me today and said, “Do you have any idea how awful it is to wake up in the night and not know where your children are?”  In truth, we’re all grown and living lives of our own (or would be if we weren’t caretaking), but in Mom’s mind we are small children she has somehow lost and she searches for us endlessly, prowling the hallways of the house, looking into closets, dreaming our loss when she does sleep.

Past, present, and future have ceased to exist.  In Mom’s mind, time is one event.  All things occur simultaneously.  Her family (mother, stepfather, siblings) are alive and then dead, over and over and over without differentiation.  She speaks of Dad in the present tense, as if he’s still here…but she does the same with relatives and friends lost to us better than two decades ago.  She sees things and people the rest of us do not, has conversations we cannot hear, does things we cannot see.  “Where is everyone?” she says every morning, having dreamt that she has a houseful of people and stares in bewilderment as I try to explain it’s just us here, just her and me and the dog.

It’s wearing us down, my sister and niece and I who have taken on the burden of caretaking her.  And, yes, let’s be totally frank and honest, okay?  It is a burden.  It would be nice to say that it’s an honor.  It would be nice to say that we’re capturing the last of the quality time with our mother/grandmother, but the truth is that the real quality time is past.  We do what we can to salvage silver and gold from these days, but often they end up tasting of copper and lead.

About Melissa Crandall

Longer ago than I care to admit--although I will--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and media tie-in novels. Since then, I've moved on to narrative nonfiction, speculative fiction, and essays. I write to explore and understand the world around me, the things I see and experience nearby or from a distance. If I shake myself up, cool. If I shake you up, even better. Not gratuitously--what's the point in that?--but to set what I know, or think I know, on end and realize, "Well, doesn't it look different from this side!" My work is neither sexually explicit nor graphically violent. Let's face it - your imaginations will come up with things far worse than anything I could write, no matter how descriptive. Besides, it's just not my thing. I live in Connecticut with my supportive husband Ed, a cat named Ruby who might just think she's a dog, and an epileptic Australian shepherd named Holly who isn't quite certain anymore who she is, except she knows she loves her mommy.
This entry was posted in Age, Aging, Alzheimer's, Caretaker, Challenge, Change, Dementia, Essays, Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Treading Water

  1. You are doing the most wonderful thing, taking care of your mother but I can see how it must be very frustrating and draining for you. Still, believe me, there will come a time in the future when you will be so glad that you did all you could for her.

Leave a Reply

