A Glimpse of Saratoga, Part 1


English: Downtown Saratoga Springs, New York, ...

English: Downtown Saratoga Springs, New York, United States (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Thanks to the need to share caregiving of my mother with other members of my family (“thanks” being a loose term, a mixed bag of gratitude) I have reason to drive up to Saratoga Springs, NY several times a month.  This is a three-plus hour jaunt I used to enjoy, but not so much anymore.  Familiarity breeds contempt, as they say, at least somewhat.  It would probably be different were I actually looking forward to my visit upstate.  It’s not that I don’t like seeing my mother — I do — but it’s dealing with her dismay and sadness, her depression and physical weakness, her lack of enjoyment in anything, and her rampant (and increasing) hallucinations as Alzheimer’s eats its way into her brain that takes the joy out of the visit.

Imagine that.

However, all is not gloom and doom.  Having adopted Holly the Aussie back in April, I have reason to walk (read:  escape the house) two or three times a day.  In prior visits through the years, I had a tendency to bomb around Saratoga, charging here and there at something of a break-neck pace.  With Holly, things are slowed down.  I walk in areas I’d never gone, explore unanticipated nooks and crannies, find wonders, and (much to my surprise) rediscover this place I’ve loved so well.

I thought to share some of what I’ve found during my adventures.  As my computer currently is having fits about uploading too many photos, I’ll do a few at a time.  I hope you enjoy what I’ve discovered.

Here there be Dragons!  Who knew that the stylish, flower-breathing sort of beastie favored the side streets of Saratoga?  I found this fellow in the courtyard of a local gardening/fine furnishings establishment.  (He’s still there, for anyone with the cash to bring him home.)

A few weeks later, this lovely creature joined him.  Full-sized; sittable, if not rideable.  Wonder if I can fit him in the back of my car?

About Melissa Crandall

A million years ago--round-about the first Ice Age--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and science fiction media tie-in novels. I'm happy to say that I've since branched out to include fantasy, horror, essays, and narrative nonfiction. This site will keep you up-to-date on my adventures in writing. I live in Connecticut with my husband--who frequently wonders what he got himself into by marrying a writer--two cats named Tuna and Gypsy, and a semi-neurotic Australian shepherd named Holly.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Australian shepherd, Blessings, Caretaker, Dogs, Dragons, Essays, Family, fantasy, Melissa Crandall, Pegasus, Saratoga Springs, Walking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Glimpse of Saratoga, Part 1

  1. Emily B says:

    I think you should go for the Pegasus…just tie him to the roof….give the people on the way home something to remember 😉

Leave a Reply

