Resolution


Assisted Living Baha'i Reflection Meeting 031

Assisted Living Baha’i Reflection Meeting 031 (Photo credit: Baha’i Views / Flitzy Phoebie)

I come to you all a….well, if not a changed woman, at least a woman willing to give change a go.  I’ve been terribly, terribly remiss on this blog.  I apologize.  Yeah, there have been reasons and given they include the death of a parent and the subsequent placement of the other parent into assisted living (the effects of which are still being felt acutely by all involved), I suppose those are good reasons.  But it’s time to grab myself by the scruff of the neck, give myself a good shake, take a look at things, and regroup.

So.

When I began this blog, I had the grandiose scheme of writing in it every day.  Some people can do that.  I even managed it for a time (usually in sporadic bursts).  But that just doesn’t fit with where I am anymore.  Although the once-weekly (or so) visits up north aren’t required now that Mom is under 24-hour care, I still need to get up there frequently, a 3+ hour drive one-way.  I’m still dealing with emotional fall-out from my father’s passing.  (Although we were not close, oddly enough it’s that lack of closeness I’m now having to come to terms with.)  I’m attempting to compartmentalize the pain and hurt and anger we’ve caused my mother by this betrayal  (and she causes in us by her verbal abuse and tears).  I’m getting back — finally — to the writing, working on a new novel that I hope (fingers crossed) will sell when the time comes.  I have a short-short to write for the Bill Library Exquisite Project (thank you, Andrea Buka!).  I have other short stories waiting impatiently in the wings (as well as another novel).  I am rediscovering my life after many months of everything being on hold.  So writing here every day just doesn’t cut it.

I’ve determined to write twice a week, Tuesdays and Thursdays.  I may write more, if something particularly momentous occurs, but right now I’ll stick with the twice a week schedule and see how it goes.  I hope you’ll stay with me.  You’ve been a wonderfully loyal group and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it.

About Melissa Crandall

A million years ago--round-about the first Ice Age--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and science fiction media tie-in novels. I'm happy to say that I've since branched out to include fantasy, horror, essays, and narrative nonfiction. This site will keep you up-to-date on my adventures in writing. I live in Connecticut with my husband--who frequently wonders what he got himself into by marrying a writer--two cats named Tuna and Gypsy, and a semi-neurotic Australian shepherd named Holly.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolution

  1. John says:

    And we resolve to be here whenever you post.

Leave a Reply

