Sometimes You Just Gotta Laugh


LOS ANGELES, CA., December, 10, 2008 - The new...

LOS ANGELES, CA., December, 10, 2008 – The new 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid is expected to be the most fuel-efficient mid-size sedan in America when it goes on sale in spring 2009 with fuel economy expected to be at least 39 mpg in city driving and 37 mpg on the highway. Photo by: Sam VarnHagen/Ford Motor Co. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Beats the alternative, anyway.

(Yes, I know it’s not Tuesday or Thursday, but I owe you a second blog.  And anyway, I’ll be traveling again next Tuesday so don’t expect much next week since I’ll be out of internet range unless I go to Starbucks and that’s not likely during track season in Saratoga.)

Anyway.

There’s something a bit poignant (and a teensy bit gut-wrenching) in getting that first ding on a brand new car.  Yeah.  I haven’t owned a new car (really new as opposed to “new to me”) in something like 30 years.  I like this car (as much as I can be said to like any car).  But it ain’t new no more.

I’m not going to go into details.  Suffice to say, the event was not my fault (I was not in the car at the time).  The car wasn’t moving, which is probably a good thing, otherwise it might have sustained more damage.  Chances are the hood and left front quarter panel will have to be replaced.  (I’ll find out more next week.)  I keep thinking I should be upset.  But I’m not.

Maybe it’s because I feel more gratitude than anything.  Gratitude that no one was hurt.  There was no blood and mayhem, no body parts strewn across the highway.  Maybe it’s because I’ve had so much stress lately, planning on my mother’s arrival into my home that everything else seems minor by comparison.  Whatever the cause, I just can’t find it in me to sweat this.  In fact, the sheer ridiculousness of the whole thing has me on the verge of laughter.  No, I don’t think the cheese is slipping off my cracker; quite the contrary.  I think it’s a damned good thing my soul can still find humor.  I’d begun to wonder.

So, what the heck.  It’s driveable.  I’m alive.  Hubby’s alive.  The pets are safe.  Those we love are doing well.  In the balance of things, a dented hood and cracked headlamp don’t measure as much.

About Melissa Crandall

Longer ago than I care to admit--although I will--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and media tie-in novels. Since then, I've moved on to narrative nonfiction, speculative fiction, and essays. I write to explore and understand the world around me, the things I see and experience nearby or from a distance. If I shake myself up, cool. If I shake you up, even better. Not gratuitously--what's the point in that?--but to set what I know, or think I know, on end and realize, "Well, doesn't it look different from this side!" My work is neither sexually explicit nor graphically violent. Let's face it - your imaginations will come up with things far worse than anything I could write, no matter how descriptive. Besides, it's just not my thing. I live in Connecticut with my supportive husband Ed, a cat named Ruby who might just think she's a dog, and an epileptic Australian shepherd named Holly who isn't quite certain anymore who she is, except she knows she loves her mommy.
This entry was posted in Cars, Humor, Laughter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sometimes You Just Gotta Laugh

  1. John says:

    You nailed it. No one was hurt, that’s the key. The rest are just details which don’t amount to much in the scheme of things.

  2. Glad you’re OK! You are so right! You have to put things into a proper perspective. As my mom always used to say to me “worse things happen at sea.”

    • I like your Mom’s style. I figure things can always been worse than they seem. Sometimes it’s difficult to keep that viewpoint, but I keep trying. I need to stay away from the people who drain my energy for their own use, and fill myself up with the people who tryly care about me.

Leave a Reply

