Newtown, CT


Official seal of Newtown, Connecticut

Official seal of Newtown, Connecticut (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There’s been a lot (too much) media regarding the horrific shooting in Newtown, CT that left so many children and adults dead.  I’m not going to belabor the topic here.  I’m not going to debate the pros and cons of gun control, or our need for a better way to deal with those who are mentally ill.  I will say this:

In order for Newtown to heal, the media has to go away and leave them alone.  These wounds will take a long time to heal (not that they ever will entirely), and having the media come along and pick at the newly formed scabs until they bleed again doesn’t help the situation.

I’m not saying we should ignore the families of Newtown.  So many people are offering help in all sorts of ways and I think that’s super.  But give Newtown the space it needs to come to term with what has occurred at its own pace.  Be there if they need you, but have respect enough to understand if they say “Go away and leave us alone.”

About Melissa Crandall

A million years ago--round-about the first Ice Age--I cut my writing teeth on fanzines and science fiction media tie-in novels. I'm happy to say that I've since branched out to include fantasy, horror, essays, and narrative nonfiction. This site will keep you up-to-date on my adventures in writing. I live in Connecticut with my husband--who frequently wonders what he got himself into by marrying a writer--two cats named Tuna and Gypsy, and a semi-neurotic Australian shepherd named Holly.
This entry was posted in children, Newtown and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Newtown, CT

  1. Linda Grimes says:

    Amen! I agree 100%.

Leave a Reply

